Found! Baskets for the Reclaimed Closet

A few posts ago, I wrote about reclaiming my coat closet. It was a great moment, but I was short on matching storage baskets to fit the space.

I admitted that I build the shelves to fit a (not yet acquired) Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer. What I didn’t tell you was that I had built the middle shelf specifically to fit baskets from IKEA. Only problem, IKEA was out of the baskets.

Quick reminder of the installed shelves:

Shelves Are In

Shelves Are In

Over time, the storage was used, but not as I’d intended:

Temporary Storage Solution

Temporary Storage Solution

For some of the baskets, such as the one shown, I made labels out of empty cereal and granola bar boxes.

Storage Lables

Storage Lables

Two fruitless visits to IKEA later, I found myself passing a Pier One that was “closing for renovations”. Uh huh. We’ll see about that. What it meant for me, was that I found lined, bamboo baskets that were just the right size for less than IKEA’s out-of-stock option.

Lined, Bamboo Baskets

Lined, Bamboo Baskets

While I’m busy with the total renovation of my apartment, my toolbox (that woven basket with the (more traditional) blue toolbox on top is where my (unacquired) KItchen Aid Stand Mixer is going to go.

Occupied Shelves

Occupied Shelves

The closet isn’t as streamlined as I’d like it to be, but it is so much more functional! Wow. I can close the door! I can get to stuff! Not only can I hang my coats, I can hang my guests’ coats!

Full View / Coat Closet

Full View / Coat Closet

Verdict: ReClaimed!

Leave a Reply

